Tallahassee Property Taxes
Florida State Property Tax Implications
Because of the volatile nature of Florida real estate tax issue, this article will be updated often. The Florida legislature is currently addressing the issue of property taxes for all Florida homeowners so stay tuned for future updates as they occur.
What Is The Homestead Exemption?
As a state of Florida property owner, you have the opportunity to participate in the Homestead Exemption. This exemption will reduce the taxable value of your home by $50,000 each year. It is important that you realize, not only does your home qualify for a Homestead Exemption, it is also afforded protection by the Save Our Homes amendment. The Save Our Homes amendment limits increases in property tax assessments to a maximum amount of 3 percent per year. If you’re a legal property titleholder in the state of Florida, The Homestead Exemption is available to be used for your primary residence only.
To apply for the Homestead Exemption you need following documentation:
- Social security numbers for all property owners
- A copy of the recorded deed
- Proof of permanent residence if you are not a U.S. citizen
- Death certificate of spouse if you are filing for a widow or widower exemption
Florida driver’s license (or Florida ID card) and one of the following:
Florida vehicle registration
Florida voter registration card
Declaration of domicile
Once you have assembled the information, all you need to do is fill out the Leon County Homestead Tax Exemption Form and submit it to the Leon County Tax Appraiser’s office.
Special Exemptions Provided For Widows, Widowers & The Disabled
For those Florida property owners who are classified as widows, widowers, and persons with disabilities, there are a number of additional exemptions available for new applications for Homestead. The Widow, Widower or Disability Exemption must be made in person at the Property Appraiser’s Office between January 1st and March 1st. If you wish to pre-file for the Homestead, this can be accomplished from March through December 31st for the next calendar year. Click or call CENTURY 21 Manausa and Associates for the local tax office location nearest you.
Your Leon County Ad Valorem Property Taxes
When it comes to buying your Leon County home, it is important to estimate the property tax for the property. Don’t be fooled by the current tax bill once you buy the home, as property taxes will be assessed on the home’s new value. We recommend a good rule of thumb is to calculate your property taxes at 2% of the purchase price. For the most current Leon County Ad Valorem Property Tax Rate, contact us here at 21 CENTURY Manausa and Associates and we will provide the most up to date information on tax rates in Tallahassee and Leon County. Below you will find information taken directly from the Leon County website regarding local Ad Valorem Taxes on Real and Personal Property.
“ Ad Valorem taxes on real property and tangible personal property are collected by the Tax Collector on an annual basis, beginning on November 1st for the year January through December. It is the responsibility of each taxpayer ensure that his/her taxes are paid and that a tax bill is received.
The Property Appraiser assesses the value of a property and The Board of County Commissioners and other levying bodies set the mileage rates. Using these figures, the Property Appraiser prepares the tax roll. Upon completion, the tax roll is then certified to the Tax Collector who prints and mails the tax notices. Tax notices are sent to the owner’s last record of address as it appears on the tax roll. In cases where the property owner pays through an escrow account, the mortgage company should request and be sent the tax bill, and the owner receives a copy of the notice.”
Tax statements are normally mailed out on or before November 1st of each year. The gross amount is due by March 31st; taxes become delinquent on April 1st. The following discounts apply for early payment:
- 4% discount if paid in November
- 3% discount if paid in December
- 2% discount is paid in January
- 1% discount is paid in February
If you would like more information about the Florida Homestead Exemption and/or property tax assessments, please call or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org December 2009